AAHHE Sylvia Hurtado University Faculty Award

The AAHHE Sylvia Hurtado University Faculty Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence in both research and teaching and has provided significant contributions to their respective academic disciplines. The AAHHE University Faculty is now named for Dr. Sylvia Hurtado. You may see Dr. Hurtado's biography and photo here

2022 AAHHE Sylvia Hurtado University Faculty Award Recipients


Gilberto Conchas, PhD
The Wayne K. and Anita Woolfolk Hoy Endowed Professorship of Education
Pennsylvania State University


Gilberto Q. Conchas, PhD is the Wayne K. and Anita Woolfolk Hoy Professor in the College of Education at the Pennsylvania State University. He received his PhD in sociology from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor and his BA in sociology from the University of California, Berkeley. Conchas’s research unearths the triumphs of urban youth of color despite unequal school-community processes. He is the author and coauthor of nine books—including The Color of Success, Streetsmart Schoolsmart, Cracks in the Schoolyard, Educational Policy Goes to School, The Complex Web of Inequality, The Chicana/o/x Dream, and Race Frames in Education. As well as numerous articles, book chapters, and policy reports. Conchas has been a professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and the University of California at Irvine and visiting professor at the University of Southern California, San Francisco State University, University of Washington, University of Barcelona, and the University of California, Berkeley and Santa Barbara. He was also Senior Program Officer for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.



Kristine Molina, PhD
Associate Professor
University of California, Irvine


Kristine Molina, PhD is associate professor of Psychological Science and faculty affiliate in Chicano/Latino Studies at the University of California, Irvine. She has a joint PhD in Psychology and Women’s Studies (University of Michigan), and BA in Psychology (Smith College). Her research addresses how different dimensions of inequality—existential and resource-based—are embodied at multiple levels to affect health across the life course and intergenerationally, and investigates contexts of coping with and resisting inequities and injustices among Latinxs and other marginalized groups. Her research has implications for policies that address social determinants of health and programs that empower marginalized communities to transform social and institutional structures that perpetuate injustices in all its forms. Molina has published in high-impact interdisciplinary health journals (e.g., Annals of Behavioral Medicine, Social Science & Medicine, American Journal of Public Health), and co-authored chapters/encyclopedia entries on embodiment of inequality at the intersection of multiple marginalized structural identities. She received the National Hispanic Science Network’s Award of Excellence in Research (2015) by a New Investigator and was named a “Rising Star” by the Association for Psychological Science. Molina is passionate about providing equitable access to empowering high-quality mentorship/training to historically disenfranchised students through her Research on Equity and Advancement of Latinxs (REAL) Lab. Her research and mentoring-training activities have been funded via federal agencies, foundations, and institutional grants.


List of past recipients of the AAHHE University Faculty Award:

  • 2021 Veronica Terriquez, PhD
  • 2020 Adriana Briscoe
  • 2019 Antonio A. Garcia
  • 2018 Karen Lozano
  • 2018 Erika Camacho
  • 2017 Armando Martinez-Cruz
  • 2016 Frederick Luis Aldama
  • 2015 Estela Bensimon
  • 2014 Aida Hurtado
  • 2013 Margarita Calderon
  • 2012 Cynthia Feliciano
  • 2011 Sylvia Hurtado
  • 2010 George J. Sanchez
  • 2009 Denise A. Segura
  • 2008 Alberta M. Gloria
  • 2007 John Alderete
  • 2006 Jorge Chapa and Marta Tienda
  • 2005 Patricia Gándara
  • 2004 Raymond V. Padilla
  • 2003 Rogelio Saenz
  • 2002 Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola
  • 2001 Virginia Sánchez-Karroll
  • 2000 Yvonne Enid González Rodriguez
  • 1999 Kris Gutiérrez
  • 1998 Edna Acosta-Belén
  • 1997 Laura Rendón
  • 1996 Gloria Bonilla-Santiago
  • 1995 Rolando Hinojosa Smith
  • 1994 Frank Bonilla
  • 1993 Arturo Madrid
  • 1992 Paul Roldán
  • 1991 Sonia Nieto
  • 1990 Mari-Luci Jaramillo
  • 1989 Frank Talamantes
  • 1988 Piedad Robertson
  • 1987 Flora Mancuso Edwards