Tomás Rivera Lecture Series

Sponsored by ETS (Educational Testing Services)

Each year a distinguished scholar or national leader is selected to present the Tomás Rivera Lecture. In the tradition of the Hispanic Caucus, AAHHE continues this series. Named in honor of the late Dr. Tomás Rivera, professor, poet and former president of the University of California, Riverside, this series highlights the keynote address delivered each year at the annual American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education (AAHHE) conference. Read more about Dr. Tomás Rivera here.

38th Annual Tomás Rivera Lecture
March 10, 2022, 8:30 - 9:30 AM PST
AAHHE National Conference

Norma V. Cantú, JD
Professor, College of Education and School of Law
University of Texas at Austin

Professor Norma V. Cantú, a civil rights litigator, was lead or co-lead on cases such as Edgewood v. Texas Education Agency and Gomez v. Illinois Board of Education.  A first-generation college student, she attended community college and graduated with a Bachelors’ degree from Pan American University.  She started her first teaching job in Brownsville, TX at the age of 19 and graduated Harvard Law School at age 22.  After a brief stint with the Texas Attorney General’s Office, she worked 13 years for the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF).  Nominated by President Clinton and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate as Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, she is the longest-serving Asst. Secretary for Civil Rights in the US Department of Education.  Since 2002, she has been a full professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy at the University of Texas at Austin where she also teaches at the law school. She volunteers with the Biden-Harris Transition Team and is chair of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, an independent, bi-partisan, fact-finding federal agency.


The ETS Policy Evaluation and Research Center is pleased to have published the following lectures:

Previous Lectures' Presenters:

  • 2008 Jamie P. Merisotis
  • 2007 Sonia Nazario
  • 2006 Michael A. Olivas
  • 2005 Raul Yzaguirre
  • 2004 Angela Oh
  • 2003 Piedad Robertson
  • 2002 Harold L. Hodgkinson
  • 2001 Félix Gutiérrez
  • 2000 David Hayes-Bautista
  • 1999 Jim Cummins
  • 1998 Samuel Betances
  • 1997 Albert H. Kauffman
  • 1996 Rolando Hinojosa Smith
  • 1995 Ronald Takaki
  • 1994 Norma Cantú
  • 1993 Gregory R. Anrig
  • 1992 Henry Cisneros
  • 1991 Toni Morrison
  • 1990 Tomás Arciniega
  • 1989 David Hamburg
  • 1988 Arturo Madrid
  • 1987 Ann Reynolds
  • 1986 Alfredo de los Santos Jr.
  • 1985 John Maguire