AAHHE Community College Award

The AAHHE Community College Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence in advocacy, teaching, or leadership and has provided significant contributions to the community college enterprise.

2021 Community College Award Recipient

Sponsored by UPS

William Serrata, PhD
El Paso Community College

Dr. William Serrata, PhD was named the President of the El Paso County Community College District effective August 1, 2012.  Dr. Serrata holds a Bachelor’s Degree from Texas A&M University – College Station, a Master’s Degree from the University of Texas at Brownsville, and a Doctorate of Philosophy in Educational Human Resource Development from Texas A&M University – College Station.

During his career, Dr. Serrata has provided enrollment management leadership in fostering enrollment growth as well as increases in; student retention, dual credit enrollment, and graduation rates with an emphasis on first-generation and Hispanic populations and establishing a college-going culture. Read more...

List of past recipients of the AAHHE Community College Award:

  • 2020 Mona Aldana-Ramirez
  • 2019 Liz Ann Báez Aguilar
  • 2018 Marissa Vasquez
  • 2017 Cristina Alfaro
  • 2016 Cristina Villalobos
  • 2015 Louie F. Rodriguez
  • 2014 Sandra Trejos
  • 2013 Sylvia Garcia-Navarrete
  • 2012 Amaury Nora
  • 2011 Stephanie Alvarez
  • 2010 Maria del Carmen Martinez
  • 2009 José B. González
  • 2008 Elba Maldonado-Colón
  • 2007 Enrique Chavez
  • 2006 Arturo Hernandez
  • 2005 René Díaz Lefebvre
  • 2004 Eduardo E. Aguilar
  • 2003 Virginia González